Strathclyde Partnership for Transport

Strathclyde Partnership for Transport (SPT) is the Regional Transport Partnership for the west of Scotland. SPT was formed in 2006 as part of the transport framework created by the Scottish Government, which is made up of a national transport agency, Transport Scotland, and seven Regional Transport Partnerships.


The SPT area comprises of the following council areas: East Dunbartonshire, East Ayrshire, East Renfrewshire, Glasgow City, Inverclyde, North Ayrshire, North Lanarkshire, Renfrewshire, South Ayrshire, South Lanarkshire, West Dunbartonshire and the Helensburgh and Lomond area of Argyll and Bute.


SPT’s role involves planning and delivering transport solutions for all modes of transport across the region, in conjunction with our member councils and industry partners. SPT is at the centre of the region’s transport planning; analysing all travel needs and developing the transport system for now and the future.